initiators and curators

Dunja Bialas, director and curator of UNDERDOX, is the editor of the online-film-magazine "artechock"  since 2000. In 2002 she was assigned member of the advisory board for the international documentary film festival Munich (Dok.Fest). She is a jury member in various international film festivals. Together with Bernd Brehmer she founded UNDERDOX in 2006. Until 2013 she was the curator of the International Competition of Dok.Fest Munich. Since 2013 she is member of the executive committee of the Association of German Film Critics.

Bernd Brehmer, director and curator of UNDEROX, is one of the programming directors of Munich based Werkstattkino since 1995. He established the internationally esteemed film archive and contributes to several festivals as programming advisor. In 1991 he founded the "24" film magazine and was general manager of the "Exit distribution agency" from 2003 until 2006 that focused on documentary films as well as independent german productions. Since 1998 he regularly contributes writings on film for the "Süddeutsche Zeitung". Together with Dunja Bialas he founded UNDERDOX in 2006.  

  Insa Wiese, short film programme. Insa Wiese studied Arts and German Language and Literature at the University of Oldenburg. There, she discovered her passion for movies and especially for shorts, she implemented her own filmlets and organized together with friends the small short film festival zwergWERK. After having worked several years for the Hamburg International Short Film Festival, she's working since 2009 as the head of the International Short Film Week Regensburg.


UNDERDOX – documents and experiments

UNDERDOX is: meeting the changing states of documentary evidence, in feature film, video art and documentary itself. It isn't a matter of documenting reality, it is the matter of experimenting "film" on the pitch of reality.

UNDERDOX has been founded in 2006 by film critic Dunja Bialas and theater operator and film collector Bernd Brehmer (Werkstattkino). The international film festival for documents and experiments shows cross-over works putting together the different genres of documentary and experimental film, fiction and artistic film. Since 2014 the biennial competition VIDEODOX shows a selection of German video art (award: 1000 euros).

Submissions to all the sections (feature films, artist in focus, focus on a film country, lost & found, short experimental programme, short documentary programme) can be done informally on sending an online link of the submitted film to info@underdox-festival.de, including some words why would you think your film would fit to the UNDERDOX festival.


manifesto

1. We show equally documentary, experimental, essay and fiction films and their conceivable intermediate forms.

2. We project movies in their original format. 16mm, 35mm and digital formats are equally welcome. We don't prefer any cinematic format or would exclude any movie because of its screening format.

3. We embrace overlong feature films. In times where television series are presented at film festivals as if they contribute as a cinematic format, the original cinematographic long form applies to us as a committed statement for our programme.

4. We don't care about film competitions. We however care about the internal architecture and dialogue developed by the compiled film program. Lines of flight, branches, junctions and echoes act on the single film as a reinforcer of its art form.

5. External parameters are not crucial to the programming. Relevance, production country, film length, big names are in themselves no criteria.

6. It is not about getting the biggest audience (and every year bigger), nor about "industry". Important is presenting the chosen films to an interested, informed audience, that however curious for new experiences. Our programming contains the propositions for a different cinematography.

7. Festivals need multilaterality. Festivals present exhibition platform for films, without the films festivals would turn out to be obsolete. Neither the production or world sales companies, film directors nor the festival people should therefore exploit the other side. We pay screening fees within reasonable bounds of our low budget and expect the World Sales Companies to comply with our requests.

8. We have a strict door policy. We consider the movies on the big screen, either at festivals or together at our programming meetings. To be part of the UNDERDOX program has to withstand our consideration that have been trained since years as filmmakers, cinema operators or film critics.

9. We don't need premieres. We oppose the common premieres' policy of festivals, the selected films only has to be presented as a Munich premiere.

10. We are no mavericks. We maintain partnerships and friendship to other festivals with a similar program philosophy. We are in exchange with the Viennale, the International Film Festival Rotterdam, the Festival of Marseille, the Forum of Berlinale, with Bildrausch in Basel, and the Nuremberg Human Rights Film Festival.

networking

Blogs and film magazines

artechock Filmmagazin – Munich film magazine with festival reports ad film reviews (in German)

Die Bleiwüste – Texts, thoughts and debates around documentary themes (in German)

Cargo Film / Medien / Kultur – Web magazine of the Cargo magazine (in German)

Cargo-Container – Blog of the Cargo magazine (in German)

critic.de – Film magazine with detailed reviews of UNDERDOX films (in German)

Missing Image / Feed Agregator – Blog about films we are missing (in English)

New Filmkritik – Blog with detailed text archive (in German)

Independencia – Blog with detailed festival reports (in French)

Parallelfilm – Blog of filmmaker Christoph Hochhäusler (in German)

Revolver – Blog of the magazine of the same title (in German)

Sigi Götz Entertainment – Fanzine around filmmaker Sig(g)i Götz-Rothemund and other personalities of hidden film history

Festivals

FID Marseille – Festival International du Documentaire de Marseille

IFFR – International Filmfestival Rotterdam

Indielisboa – International Independent Film Festival Lissabon

Les Inattendus – Festival de cinéma (très) indépendant, Lyon

Pesaro – Internationales Festival des Neuen Films

Torino – Torino Film Festival

Viennale – Vienna International Filmfestival 

berlinerpool – International Platform for video art, editor of Monday-News, weekly entry appels for international festivals

the festival's artists

Ossi Fink – artist 2016

Cora Piantoni – photographer 2007-2012

Axel Recht – photographer 2013

Nicola Müller – artist 2014

Friedemann Roll – photo artist 2015

initiatoren und kuratorium

Dunja Bialas, Mitbegründerin, Leiterin und Kuratorin von UNDERDOX, Studium der Romanistik und Allgemeinen und Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft in München und Paris. Seit 2000 Redakteurin des Filmmagazins "artechock".  Von 2002 bis 2013 Programmauswahl bei Dok.Fest München. Seit 2013 Vorstandssprecherin des Verbands der deutschen Filmkritik. Berufung in internationale Jurys. 2014 gründete sie VIDEODOX – biennale Ausstellung für Videokunst aus Bayern.
Das Kuratieren von Ausstellungen zu Videokunst und von Programmen zu  Länderschwerpunkten gehört zu ihren Spezialgebieten. Ihre Vorliebe gilt dem Experimentalfilm und dokumentarischen Filmzwischenformen.

Bernd Brehmer, Mitbegründer, Leiter und Kurator von UNDERDOX. Seit 1995 Mitbetreiber des Münchner Werkstattkinos. Durch seine Filmanschaffungen prägt er das international renommierte Filmarchiv. 1991 Gründung der Filmzeitschrift "24". Von 2003 bis 2006 Verleihchef der "Exit Verleihagentur", die sich dem dokumentarischen Film sowie deutschen Independent-Produktionen widmete. Er ist in zahlreichen Jurys vertreten und kuratiert Filmprogramme für internationale Festivals.

Insa Wiese, gebürtige Ostfriesin. Studium der Kunst und Germanistik in Oldenburg. Nach eigenen Kurzfilmen organisierte sie zusammen mit Freunden das Kurzfilmfestival zwergWERK Oldenburg. Mitarbeit beim Hamburger Kurzfilmfestival. Seit 2009 Leitung der Internationalen Kurzfilmwoche Regensburg. Lehraufträge an der Universität Regensburg. Seit 2016 wirkt sie bei der Auswahl der UNDERDOX-Kurzfilme mit.

Mathias von Tesmar lebt und arbeitet als Autor und Kurator in München. Studium der Germanistik, Philosophie und Theaterwissenschaft. Von 2008 bis 2010 Leiter der Video-Library und des Künstlerischen Archivs von lothringer13/spiegel in München. 2015 kurartierte er für VIDEODOX die Videokunst-Retrospektive "spiegel-Mediathek der lothringer13" in der Galerie der Künstler. Seit 2017 ist er Co-Leiter der UNDERDOX-Sektion VIDEODOX, biennale Ausstellung für Videokunst aus Bayern. 2018 kuratierte er die Sektion "living archive" (King Kong Kunstkabinett).

Janna Lihl arbeitete nach ihrem Studium des Communication & Multimedia Designs ein Jahr als Designerin, bis sie sich entschloss, wieder zum Film zurückzukehren. Nach ihrem Master in Kulturwissenschaftlicher Medienforschung mit Schwerpunkt auf Bewegtbild ist sie u.a. als Filmvermittlerin tätig. Neben der Arbeit bei einer Filmproduktion schreibt sie Filmtexte und ist freie Journalistin bei einem Münchner Magazin. Seit 2017 ist sie als Programmassistenz (Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, PR, Organisation) bei UNDERDOX tätig.

UNDERDOX – dokument und experiment


UNDERDOX ist: den verän­derten Aggre­gat­zu­ständen des Doku­men­ta­ri­schen begegnen, im Spielfilm, der Video­kunst und im Doku­men­tar­film. Es geht dabei nicht um die Doku­men­ta­tionen von Wirk­lich­keit, es geht um das Expe­ri­ment »Film« auf dem Spielfeld der Wirk­lich­keit.

UNDERDOX wurde 2006 von Filmkritikerin Dunja Bialas und Kinobetreiber Bernd Brehmer (Werkstattkino) gegründet. Das internationale Festival für Dokument und Experiment zeigt Grenzen auslotende Filme zwischen Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilm, Spiel- und künstlerischen Film. Seit 2014 gibt es den biennalen Wettbewerb VIDEODOX für deutsche Videokunst (Preisgeld: 1000 Euro).

Einreichungen sind formlos auf Anfrage möglich: info@underdox-festival.de

Das UNDERDOX Manifest

1. Wir program­mieren glei­cher­maßen Doku­mentar-, Expe­ri­mental-, Essay- und Spiel­filme und ihre erdenk­li­chen Zwischen­formen.

2. Wir proji­zieren Filme im Origi­nal­format. 16mm, 35mm und die digitalen Formate sind uns glei­cher­maßen will­kommen. Wir geben keinem filmi­schen Format den Vorzug und schließen keinen Film aufgrund seines Formats aus.

3. Wir huldigen dem über­langen Film. In Zeiten, da Fernseh-Serien auf Festivals als Kino-Formate präsent sind, gilt uns die originär kine­ma­to­gra­fi­sche Langform als bewusst gesetztes program­ma­ti­sches Statement.

4. Wir schicken Filme in keinen Wett­be­werb. Uns geht es um die kura­to­ri­sche Sorgfalt und den inneren Dialog, die die Filme im zusam­men­ge­stellten Programm entfalten. Flucht­li­nien, Verzwei­gungen, Abzwei­gungen und Echos wirken auf die einzelnen Filme als Vers­tärker ihrer Kunstform.

5. Äußere Parameter sind für die Program­mie­rung nicht entschei­dend. Themen-Relevanz, Produk­ti­ons­land, Länge der Filme, Bekannt­heits­grad des Regis­seurs sind für sich genommen keine Kriterien.

6. Uns geht es nicht darum, ein möglichst breites Publikum zu erreichen, noch um die "Branche". Uns sind die Filme und ihre Machart wichtig, ihre oft eigen­wil­lige Annähe­rung an die Wirk­lich­keit. Unsere Program­mie­rung enhält Vorschläge für ein anderes Kino.

7. Festivals brauchen Mehr­sei­tig­keit. Festivals sind die Ausstel­lungs­platt­form für Filme. Ohne diese wiederum wären Festivals obsolet. Weder Filme noch Festivals sollten daher einseitig vom anderen profitieren. Wir zahlen Screening Fees im Rahmen unseres leider geringen Budgets und erwarten von den World Sales Companies Entge­gen­kommen.

8. Wir haben eine strenge Tür. Wir sehen die Filme im Kino, entweder auf Festivals oder gemeinsam bei Sich­tungs­ter­minen. Wer ins UNDERDOX Programm will, muss unserem seit Jahr­zehnten geschulten Blick als Cineasten, Kino­be­treiber und Film­kri­tiker stand­halten.

9. Wir brauchen keine Premieren. Wir wider­setzen uns der Premie­ren­po­litik von Festivals, aber wir führen unsere Filme erstmalig in München vor.

10. Wir sind keine Einzel­kämpfer. Wir pflegen die Part­ner­schaft und Freund­schaft zu anderen Festivals, die eine ähnliche Programm­phi­lo­so­phie praktizieren. Wir stehen im Kontakt und im Austausch mit der Viennale, dem Film­fes­tival von Rotterdam, dem Festival von Marseille, dem Forum der Berlinale, mit Bild­rausch in Basel, dem Nürn­berger Festival der Menschen­rechte.

netzwerk

Blogs und Magazine

artechock Filmmagazin – Das Münchener Filmmagazin mit Festivalberichten und Filmkritiken

Die Bleiwüste – Texte, Gedanken und Diskussionen zu Themen des Dokumentarfilms

Cargo Film / Medien / Kultur – Das Webmagazin zum Cargo-Heft

Cargo-Container – Der Blog zum Magazin

critic.de – Das Filmmagazin mit ausführlichen Besprechungen von UNDERDOX-Filmen

Missing Image / Feed Agregator – Blog in englischer Sprache über Filme, die wir vermissen

New Filmkritik – Blog mit ausführlichem Texte-Archiv

Independencia – Blog in französischer Sprache mit ausführlichen Festivalberichten

Parallelfilm – Blog von Christoph Hochhäusler

Revolver – Der Blog zum Heft

Sigi Götz Entertainment – Fanzine rund um Sig(g)i Götz-Rothemund und anderen Personalities der anderen Filmgeschichte

Festivals

FID Marseille – Festival International du Documentaire de Marseille

IFFR – International Filmfestival Rotterdam

Indielisboa – International Independent Film Festival Lissabon

Les Inattendus – Festival de cinéma (très) indépendant, Lyon

Pesaro – Internationales Festival des Neuen Films

Torino – Torino Film Festival

Viennale – Vienna International Filmfestival 

berlinerpool – Internationale Plattform für Videokunst mit den Monday-News, wöchentlichen Aufrufen zu Einreichungen bei Festivals

Woche der Kritik – Internationale Kritikerwoche zur Berlinale

Kunsträume

Florida – Ausstellungs- und Aktionsraum der Lothringer13 in München

Galerie der Künstler – Wunderschöne Galerie des BBK München und Oberbayern e.V.

Kunstverein München – Trendig, hip und jung!

künstler der festivalmotive

Ossi Fink – Künstler 2016

Cora Piantoni – Fotografin 2007-2012

Axel Recht – Fotograf 2013

Nicola Müller – Künstlerin 2014

Friedemann Roll – Fotokünstler 2015